RingCentral pricing in 2026: plans, cost per user, and the RingCentral alternatives small teams switch to
RingCentral costs $20 per user per month on Core, $25 on Advanced, and $35 on Ultra when billed yearly, or $30, $35, and $45 on the same plans billed monthly, which is a 50 percent premium for not signing an annual contract. The lines that catch small teams are the allowances rather than the rate: Core includes only 100 toll-free minutes for the whole account and 25 business texts per user per month, which is roughly one text a working day. The best RingCentral alternatives for small teams in 2026 are Phoner ($15 to $29 per user billed yearly, $19 to $35 month to month), Quo (formerly OpenPhone), and Dialpad. Most teams under 25 people switch to drop the annual contract and stop paying for video and contact-center features they never open.
The full ranked field is in the guide to the best VoIP for small business, entry pricing for every provider sits yearly against monthly in the business phone system comparison, and Phoner's plans are listed in plain dollars on the pricing page.
01 · Pick your number
02 · Your phone menu
03 · Incoming call
Press a key to answer the menu yourself
Voicemail to text
transcribed · texted to you · 0:42
Call sheet
Today
This number can be yours in about 5 minutes.
Recording consent laws vary by state and country. You are responsible for lawful use.
Where RingCentral is genuinely strong
RingCentral is the reference point for a reason. It is a full UCaaS platform: phone, video meetings, messaging, and a real contact center in one vendor, with deep admin controls, integrations, and the scale to run thousands of seats. If you are building a 200-person support floor, it belongs on your shortlist.
Where Phoner fits
Phoner is the focused alternative: just the business phone system, done well. Small teams get the parts they actually use, an IVR phone menu, ring groups, voicemail to text, business texting, and call recording with consent announcements, at $15-29 per user billed yearly ($19-35 month to month), self-serve, usually assigned the same business day after you request it instead of a sales cycle.
In practice the deciding features are usually the IVR phone menu and call recording with consent tools.
Phoner vs RingCentral, line by line
| What you are buying | Phoner | RingCentral |
|---|---|---|
| Price shape | $15-29/user/mo | Around $20-35/user/mo on annual billing |
| Contract | Month to month, or yearly for the lowest rate | Annual contract for the best rates |
| IVR phone menu | Visual builder, Team plan | Yes, multi-level |
| Team routing and ring groups | Yes, rules you can read | Yes, deep but complex to admin |
| Business texting | Yes, Team plan | Yes |
| Call recording + consent tools | Recording + consent announcements | Yes, automatic on upper tiers |
| Toll-free and vanity numbers | Yes, $5/number/mo | Yes |
| Number porting | Free, number stays live | Yes |
| Apps | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web |
Swipe sideways for the full table
Competitor figures are public list prices and positioning as of 2026. Verify before buying.
Phoner's side of the table starts at $15/user/mo on the Starter plan and $29 on Team, the plan most small teams pick, both month to month. Extra local or toll-free numbers are a flat $5/number/mo. Where the two products tie on a row, the difference is usually how visibly the feature is built: see the IVR phone menu page for exactly how Phoner does it.
RingCentral pricing by plan, with the toll-free and texting allowances the headline rate hides
RingCentral publishes an annual rate and a higher month-to-month rate for the same plan, and comparison pages almost always quote only the first one. Here are both, read from RingCentral's own pricing page on September 9, 2026, next to what Phoner charges. The fourth column is the part that gets missed: every RingCentral tier meters toll-free minutes and business texts, and Core is capped at 100 toll-free minutes for the whole account and 25 texts per user per month, which is about one text a working day.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Toll-free minutes and texts included |
|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral Core | $20 per user | $30 per user | 100 toll-free minutes, 25 texts per user |
| RingCentral Advanced | $25 per user | $35 per user | 1,000 toll-free minutes, 100 texts per user |
| RingCentral Ultra | $35 per user | $45 per user | 10,000 toll-free minutes, 200 texts per user |
| Phoner Starter | $15 per user | $19 per user | A number, voicemail to text, and the apps |
| Phoner Team | $29 per user | $35 per user | Adds the phone menu, ring groups, texting, and recording |
Swipe sideways for the full table
RingCentral plan prices and allowances re-read from RingCentral's own pricing page on September 2, 2026, and they change often · Core also includes on-demand call recording and a multi-level auto attendant · Advanced adds CRM integrations and multi-site · Ultra adds unlimited storage and automatic recording · Toll-free minute allowances are per account and text allowances are per user per month · No user minimum was shown on the page we captured September 2, 2026 · Phoner figures are our list prices · Telecom taxes, regulatory fees, and A2P texting registration are extra on both · Verify before buying
Every RingCentral add-on with a published price, and which plan actually includes it
A Core quote at $20 per user is a floor rather than a forecast, and the honest way to read any per seat rate card is to check what stays a paid extra at the top of the range. Read from RingCentral's own plans and pricing page on September 9, 2026. Where RingCentral does not state a unit next to a price, we print the figure as published rather than assuming it is per user.
| Add-on | Published price | Which plan includes it |
|---|---|---|
| AI Receptionist | Starts at $39, unit not stated | None. Marked an add-on option on Core, Advanced, Ultra and the Customer Engagement Bundle alike |
| Conversational Intelligence | Starts at $60, unit not stated | None published |
| Call Queues Booster | $35, unit not stated | Customer Engagement Bundle only, which is quote only |
| Business SMS Booster | $25, unit not stated | Customer Engagement Bundle only, which is quote only |
| RingCX AI Contact Center | Starting at $65 per user | None, sold as a separate product |
| RingCentral Webinar | Starting at $30 per organizer per month | A 500 attendee license is included for Ultra and Customer Engagement Bundle users |
| RingCentral Events | Starting at $99 per organizer per month | None |
| RingCentral Rooms | Starting at $39 per room per month | None |
| Push to Talk | $5 per user per month | None |
| Additional vanity numbers | $30 one time plus $4.99 per month | None |
| Additional international toll-free numbers | $14.99 per user per month plus $25 one time | None |
| Additional international numbers | Starting at $5.99 per user per month | None |
Swipe sideways for the full table
Every price and every inclusion read from RingCentral's own plans and pricing page on September 9, 2026 · The customer engagement bundle is quote only and publishes no rate, so "included in the bundle" is not the same as a known price · Where RingCentral prints a figure without a unit we say so rather than guess
What RingCentral actually costs once you read past the per-user rate
The toll-free and texting allowances are the caps nobody quotes
RingCentral Core is $20 per user, and the number that decides whether that is enough is not on any comparison page: Core includes 100 toll-free minutes for the entire account and 25 business texts per user per month. A hundred toll-free minutes is under two hours of inbound calling across your whole company, so a business that publishes an 800 number and expects it to ring will exhaust it in days and then pay per minute on top. Twenty-five texts is roughly one a working day, which is not a texting plan so much as a sample. Advanced at $25 raises those to 1,000 minutes and 100 texts, and Ultra at $35 to 10,000 and 200. If toll-free calling or customer texting is central to how you work, price the tier that carries the allowance you will actually use, and compare that number rather than the $20 one.
The annual contract, not the monthly price
The most common trigger is not the sticker price, it is discovering the good rate requires committing for a year. RingEX Core is $20 per user billed annually and $30 billed monthly, a 50 percent premium for flexibility. Teams that are hiring, shrinking, or simply unsure a year out end up paying the monthly rate, at which point the value comparison against a month-to-month product changes completely.
Paying for a suite when you needed a phone system
RingCentral bundles phone, video meetings, team messaging, and a path into contact center. That is genuinely valuable at 100 seats and mostly wasted at eight, especially if your team already runs on Zoom or Google Meet and Slack. The question worth asking is which of those four products you would notice missing on a Tuesday, because you are paying for all of them either way.
Administration that needs an administrator
The depth that makes RingCentral strong at enterprise scale is exactly what makes it heavy for a small office. Roles, templates, permission sets, and multi-site hierarchies are powerful and take time to learn. Small teams frequently report that a simple change, moving the after-hours cutoff or adding a menu option, becomes a task somebody has to schedule rather than something the office manager does in a browser tab.
What you should keep from RingCentral when you leave
Before porting, export three things: the call flow diagram or a screenshot of every auto attendant menu, your list of DIDs and which extension each belongs to, and any recordings you are required to retain. Recordings in particular are the item people forget, and retention obligations do not end because you changed vendors. Rebuild the menu in the new system first, then port.
How the migration actually runs
Sign up, submit the port with a recent RingCentral bill showing the billing telephone number and the full DID range, and keep answering on RingCentral while it processes. Most business ports complete in one to two weeks. Confirm your contract end date before you cancel, because RingCentral annual agreements can carry early-termination charges even after the number has moved.
Where RingCentral is still the right answer
If you are running a support floor with queues measured against a service level, need workforce management, single sign-on, or a signed uptime SLA, or your procurement process requires a named account team, RingCentral is built for that and we are not. A comparison page that never sends anyone to the competitor is an advertisement, and this is where we send you.
The AI Receptionist is an add-on on every plan, including the most expensive one
Most tiered rate cards work on a simple promise: climb far enough and the feature becomes included. RingCentral's AI Receptionist does not follow it. On its own plan matrix the feature is marked as an add-on option on Core, on Advanced, on Ultra and on the Customer Engagement Bundle, which is the top of the range and is quote only. There is no plan you can buy at any published price that includes it, and it starts at $39. Conversational Intelligence is in the same position, starting at $60. The Call Queues Booster at $35 and the Business SMS Booster at $25 do eventually become included, but only inside the Customer Engagement Bundle, which publishes no rate at all. None of this makes RingCentral a bad buy and most of the category has a version of it. It does mean that comparing a $20 Core quote against any rival is comparing a starting point, and the only fix is to ask for a quote with your actual add-ons and regulatory fees on it before you sign anything.
The texting allowance is smaller than it looks, and automated messaging sits outside it entirely
RingCentral publishes its Enhanced Business SMS allowance per tier and it is metered per user: 25 messages per user per month on Core, 100 on Advanced and 200 on Ultra, with additional messages available for purchase. Twenty-five is roughly one text per working day, so a five person team on Core is paying $100 a month for a ceiling of 125 messages. There is a second limit worth reading in the disclaimers underneath. RingCentral states that automated, high volume or marketing SMS is not covered by these allowances at all and is sold separately as RingCentral High Volume SMS, and that Enhanced Business SMS is subject to volume and frequency limitations under its own content policies. So an appointment reminder sequence or a review request flow is a different purchase from the plan allowance, not a heavier use of it. Compare that with the flat-rate end of the market, where Grasshopper carries unlimited texting on all three plans for a $1.50 monthly messaging fee, and the shape of the difference is clear.
Who should pick which
Pick RingCentral if
Pick RingCentral if you are 100+ seats and want phone, video meetings, and a full contact center from one vendor with enterprise admin, SLAs, and a named account team. That is what it is built for.
Their list price: Around $20-35/user/mo, annual billing
Pick Phoner if
Pick Phoner if you are a team of 2-25 that wants a professional phone presence, an IVR menu, ring groups, texting, and recording, without an annual contract, a sales call, or a suite you will not use.
Phoner: $15-29/user/mo yearly, $19-35 monthly
Leaving RingCentral does not mean a new number
Your number is yours and moves with you. Phoner's free number porting takes about 1-2 weeks, and the line keeps ringing on RingCentral until the moment it switches over. Set up your phone menu and ring groups in Phoner while you wait, then the cutover is invisible to callers.
Port order · RingCentral → Phoner
Sign up for Phoner and submit the port with a recent RingCentral bill.
Keep answering on RingCentral. The number never goes dark.
In 1-2 weeks calls ring your Phoner apps. Cancel the old account.
Porting fee: $0 · Downtime: None
Compare RingCentral against a specific competitor
This page weighs RingCentral against Phoner. If you are choosing between two other vendors instead, these pages put both of their rate cards in one table.
Aircall vs RingCentral
RingCentral against Aircall: cheaper at every headcount we priced, but Aircall puts call queuing and helpdesk integrations on its entry plan.
RingCentral vs Dialpad
Two second tiers priced identically at $25 per user, separated only by the three-seat minimum that one of them publishes and the other does not.
Google Voice vs RingCentral
Google Voice looks half the price until you add the Google Workspace license Google requires underneath. Once it is counted, the cheapest Voice tier that can run a phone menu costs $27 per user against RingCentral Core at $20.
OpenPhone vs RingCentral
Quo, formerly OpenPhone, starts at $15 per user against RingCentral Core at $20. The ranking flips once you need an auto attendant, because RingCentral includes one on its entry plan.
Nextiva vs RingCentral
Nextiva Engage and RingCentral Advanced are both $25 per user billed yearly. Billed monthly they are $50 and $35, which is the widest gap between two identically priced plans in the category.
Common questions about switching
Can I move my RingCentral number to Phoner?
Yes. Porting is free, usually takes 1-2 weeks, and your number stays live on RingCentral until the moment it switches over, so you never miss a call. Check your RingCentral contract end date first to avoid early-termination fees on their side.
What does Phoner not have that RingCentral has?
Video meetings and a full contact center. Phoner is deliberately a phone system only: numbers, IVR, routing, texting, voicemail to text, and recording. If you need webinar hosting or a 50-agent queue with workforce management, RingCentral is the better fit.
How much is RingCentral per user per month?
RingCentral Core is $20 per user per month billed annually and $30 billed monthly, with Advanced at $25 and $35 and Ultra at $35 and $45, read from their published pricing on September 9, 2026. Telecom taxes and regulatory fees are added on top, and a compliance and administrative cost recovery fee is common on US invoices.
What are the RingCentral plans?
Three published tiers plus a quote-only bundle. Core at $20 per user billed yearly covers unlimited domestic calling, on-demand recording, and a multi-level auto attendant. Advanced at $25 adds CRM integrations and multi-site support. Ultra at $35 adds unlimited storage, automatic recording, and webinars. A Customer Engagement Bundle is priced on request.
How many toll-free minutes does RingCentral include?
Core includes 100 toll-free minutes per account per month, Advanced 1,000, and Ultra 10,000. That Core allowance is under two hours of inbound toll-free calling for your whole company, so a business that publishes an 800 number and expects volume should price Advanced or higher rather than the headline $20 tier.
How many texts does RingCentral include?
Business texting is capped per user per month: 25 texts on Core, 100 on Advanced, and 200 on Ultra. Twenty-five is about one text per working day, so any team that texts customers routinely will need a higher tier. A2P 10DLC brand and campaign registration is required for business texting on every US provider, RingCentral included.
Does RingCentral have a user minimum?
No user minimum was shown on the pricing page we captured on September 9, 2026, so a single seat appears to be purchasable. That is worth confirming with sales before you plan around it, because seat floors are common in this category: both published Aircall plans require three licenses, which puts their smallest bill at $90 a month.
Who are RingCentral's competitors?
RingCentral's main competitors in the US business phone market are Nextiva, Dialpad, Zoom Phone, 8x8, Vonage, Ooma, Quo (formerly OpenPhone), Google Voice, Phone.com, Grasshopper, Aircall and Phoner. They split into three groups: full UCaaS suites that compete on breadth, per-seat phone systems that compete on price and simplicity, and flat per-account products aimed at solo operators.
What are the best RingCentral alternatives?
For small teams leaving on price or the annual contract, the closest alternatives are Nextiva Core and Dialpad Connect at $15 per user billed yearly, Quo Starter at $15, Phone.com Basic at $15, and Phoner at $15 to $29 month to month. For a solo operator, Grasshopper at $14 flat per account is cheaper still. For a large contact center, 8x8 and Genesys are the like-for-like replacements rather than any of these.
Is there a cheaper alternative to RingCentral?
Yes. Nextiva Core and Dialpad Connect Standard start at $15 per user billed yearly, Quo Starter at $15, and Phoner at $15 with Team at $29 month to month. For a single user, Grasshopper at $14 flat per account is cheaper still. The saving is largest for teams under about 25 seats that do not need video or contact center features.
Does RingCentral require an annual contract?
No, but the advertised prices assume one. RingCentral sells month-to-month service at a noticeably higher rate, roughly 50 percent more on the entry plan. If you sign an annual agreement, check the termination terms before you commit, because leaving early can carry a charge for the remaining months.
Which is better, RingCentral or Nextiva?
Nextiva is the cheaper entry at $15 per user billed yearly against RingCentral Core at $20, and $23 against $30 monthly. RingCentral is stronger on administrative depth, video, and single sign-on. For a small team that mainly needs calls answered well, price usually decides it; for a large estate, the admin tooling usually does.
Connect · Line open
Ready when you are, month to month
Pick a number and be usually assigned the same business day after you request it, or port your RingCentral number for free.
No credit card to get started. Cancel any time.