Ranked · 12 lines tested
Best VoIP for small business: top rated VoIP services for small business, ranked and priced
The best VoIP for small business in 2026 is Phoner: $15-29 per user per month billed yearly, $19-35 month to month, usually assigned the same business day after you request it with an IVR phone menu, team routing, voicemail to text, and business texting. OpenPhone, Dialpad, RingCentral, Nextiva, Google Voice, Grasshopper, Phone.com, Ooma, Aircall, Zoom Phone, and Ringover follow, each best for a specific kind of buyer.
1
Line 01 · Phoner
Phoner: the focused business phone system
Phoner is first because it does the one job a small team actually needs done: a professional phone presence, usually assigned the same business day after you request it, at $15-29 per user per month with no annual contract. You pick a local or toll-free number, build an IVR phone menu in a visual editor, set ring groups with rules you can read back, and get voicemail to text and business texting on the Team plan. Recording ships with consent announcements, porting your existing number is free, and extra numbers are a flat $5/number/mo.
$15-29
per user/mo billed yearly
5 min
signup to first call
$0
number porting fee
Thirteen honest runner-ups, and who each one is for
Every product below is good at what it was built for. The one-line verdicts say plainly who should pick it over Phoner.
2
CMP-03 OpenPhone
OpenPhone
The closest modern rival, now trading as Quo: strong shared-inbox texting and a well-liked app.
The text-first pick: teams that live in shared-inbox texting workflows.
List price: $15-35/user/mo billed yearly
Phoner vs OpenPhone, line by line3
CMP-05 Dialpad
Dialpad
The AI-forward suite: strong built-in transcription and meeting notes, tiered pricing.
The AI pick: teams that want built-in meeting notes and live call transcription.
List price: $15-27/user/mo, annual for lowest
Phoner vs Dialpad, line by line4
CMP-02 RingCentral
RingCentral
The full UCaaS suite: phone + video + contact center, powerful but heavy for small teams.
The enterprise pick: 100+ seats that want phone, video, and a contact center in one suite.
List price: Around $20-35/user/mo, annual billing
Phoner vs RingCentral, line by line5
CMP-06 Nextiva
Nextiva
The all-in-one ambition: phone plus CRM and helpdesk tools from a single vendor.
The one-vendor pick: companies that want phone, CRM, and helpdesk from a single suite.
List price: $15-75/user/mo billed yearly
Phoner vs Nextiva, line by line6
CMP-01 Google Voice
Google Voice
A phone feature inside Google Workspace: fine for one person, thin on team routing and IVR.
The budget pick for a single founder already on Google Workspace who needs one number and the basics.
List price: Free personal; $10-20/user business
Phoner vs Google Voice, line by line7
CMP-04 Grasshopper
Grasshopper
The flat-rate classic: one predictable account bill, priced by numbers and extensions rather than people.
The flat-bill pick: a true solo operator who wants one predictable monthly price.
List price: $14-55/mo flat per account
Phoner vs Grasshopper, line by line8
CMP-07 Phone.com
Phone.com
A deep feature list sold per user, with the useful parts spread across three tiers.
The mixed-team pick: assign a different plan to each user instead of one rate for everyone.
List price: $15-33.33/user/mo billed yearly
Phoner vs Phone.com, line by line9
CMP-13 Ooma
Ooma
A no-contract cloud phone system with the auto attendant on the entry plan and the modern parts one tier up.
The no-contract pick: one published price per plan, with the auto attendant on the cheapest tier.
List price: $19.95-29.95/user/mo, no contract
Phoner vs Ooma, line by line10
CMP-08 Aircall
Aircall
A sales and support calling platform sold in blocks of three licenses, with deep CRM integration.
The sales-floor pick: power dialer, live monitoring, and 250+ integrations, once you have three or more people on the phones.
List price: $30-50/license/mo, 3-license minimum
Phoner vs Aircall, line by line11
CMP-09 Zoom Phone
Zoom Phone
A solid phone system sold inside the Zoom ecosystem, with a metered entry plan that bills every outbound minute.
The pick for companies already standardized on Zoom, especially if you want voice and video meetings on one bill.
List price: $10.50-24.50/user/mo, billed annually
Phoner vs Zoom Phone, line by line12
CMP-16 Ringover
Ringover
A French-built cloud phone and sales calling platform sold in blocks of three seats on a twelve-month commitment.
The European pick: transcription and AI summaries on the entry plan, a real sales dialer above it, once you have three or more people on the phones.
List price: $15-54/user/mo, three-seat minimum
Phoner vs Ringover, line by line13
CMP-25 MightyCall
MightyCall
A US cloud phone and call center system for small and mid-size teams, sold per user with a three-seat minimum.
The small call center pick: queues, a multi-level IVR and CRM integrations on a $20 entry plan, once you have three or more people on the phones.
List price: $20-65/user/mo, three-user minimum
Phoner vs MightyCall, line by line14
CMP-27 JustCall
JustCall
A US-focused cloud phone and sales calling platform from SaaS Labs, sold per license with a two-license minimum and built around CRM integrations.
The CRM-first sales pick: call queues, unlimited transcription and 100+ integrations on a $29 entry plan, from two licenses up.
List price: $29-89/user/mo, two-license minimum
Phoner vs JustCall, line by lineAll thirteen, side by side
| Feature | Phoner | OpenPhone | Dialpad | RingCentral | Nextiva | Google Voice | Grasshopper | Phone.com | Ooma | Aircall | Zoom Phone | Ringover | MightyCall | JustCall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price shape | $15-29/user/mo | $15-35/user annual, $19-47 monthly | $15-25/user annual, $27-35 monthly | $20-35/user annual, $30-45 monthly | $15-75/user/mo billed yearly | $10-30/user business; Workspace required, from $7 | $14-55/mo flat per account, annual | $15/user/mo yearly, $18 monthly | $19.95-29.95/user/mo, month to month | $30-50/license/mo, billed annually | Per user; rate card re-verified at source September 4, 2026 | $15-54/user/mo, three-seat minimum | $20-65/user/mo, three-user minimum | $29-89/user/mo, two-license minimum |
| Contract | Month to month, or yearly for the lowest rate | Month to month available | Month to month is up to 80% more | Annual for the low rate; monthly is up to 50% more | Engage doubles to $50 billed monthly | Month to month | Annual totals only published | Month to month or yearly | No contract at any tier, no annual plan | 3-license minimum, so a $90 floor | Published rates are billed annually | Twelve-month commitment for the advertised rate | Annual rate; month to month costs 25 percent more on Core | Annual rate; month to month costs 34 percent more on Team |
| IVR phone menu | Visual builder, Team plan | Phone menus on Business, $23; not on Starter | Multi-level, all tiers | Multi-level, on Core | Yes, included from Core at $15 | Standard, $20; not on the $10 Starter | Phone menu and extensions; plan not stated | Basic, $15 | Virtual receptionist on Essentials, $19.95 | Essentials, $30 | Included on every plan | Yes, on TALK; advanced IVR from Business $47 | Multi-level IVR on every plan | Single-level IVR on Team, multi-level from Pro at $49 |
| Team routing and ring groups | Yes, rules you can read | Ring order and group calling on Business, $23 | 3 groups on Standard, 25 on Pro; no hold queue on Standard | Yes; Call Queues Booster $35 extra | Yes | Standard, $20; not on the $10 Starter | No ring group published | Tier placement not published | Tier placement not published | Smart routing on Professional, $50 | Tier placement not published | Call groups on Business $47, an add-on below it | Ring groups and call queues on every plan | Call queues on every plan; intelligent routing from Pro |
| Business texting | Yes, Team plan | Unlimited; $19.50 registration + $1.50-3/mo fee | Yes; allowance not published | 25/100/200 texts per user per month | 100 per user on Core, 500 on Engage | Limited, US only | Unlimited; $19.50 registration + $1.50/mo | Plus, $22.50 | Pro, $24.95, 250 a month | Listed, rates quoted on request | SMS and MMS included | US and Canada; inbound SMS from Business | Unlimited SMS and MMS under fair use; TCR registration required | 500 SMS segments per license on Team; TCR registration required |
| Call recording + consent tools | Recording + consent announcements | Manual on Starter, automatic from Business | All tiers; on demand vs automatic not stated | On demand on Core, automatic from Advanced | Paid add-on on Core, included from Engage | Upper tiers, thin controls | Automatic per extension; plan not stated | Pro, $33.33; consent announcements not published | Pro, $24.95; consent announcements not published | Essentials, $30; consent announcements not published | Yes; consent announcements not published | Recording on TALK; consent tools not published | Recording on every plan; consent announcements not listed | Recording on every plan; US recording compliance from Pro |
| Toll-free and vanity numbers | Yes, $5/number/mo | Toll-free can be the included number; extras $5/mo | Not published | Yes, 100 to 10,000 pooled toll-free minutes | Yes, but no toll-free minutes on Core | No toll-free numbers on any tier | Extra numbers $9/mo each | Yes, 1 per account and per user included | 500 inbound toll-free minutes a month | 1 local or toll-free, extras $6/mo | 1 number per user, extras $5/mo | Toll-free excluded from unlimited inbound | Three local or toll-free numbers included, extra $5 | Toll-free on every plan; two numbers per account |
| Number porting | Free, number stays live | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, fee on personal accounts | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Apps | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, web | iOS, Android, desktop | Mobile and desktop apps; desk phones from Plus | Desktop app from Pro, $24.95 | iOS, Android, desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, web | Mobile and web on TALK; desktop on higher tiers | iOS, Android, Windows and macOS desktop, web | iOS, Android, desktop, Chrome extension |
Swipe sideways for the full table
Competitor figures are public list prices and positioning as of 2026. Verify before buying.
How we ranked these
We ranked for a team of 2-25 people whose phone is how customers reach them. Four things counted: what the monthly bill actually is for that team, whether you can leave (contracts and porting), whether the core phone features exist without an upgrade maze (IVR, ring groups, texting, recording), and how fast a non-technical owner gets live. Yes, Phoner is our product; that is why every runner-up entry names who should pick it instead, and each comparison page opens with where the other product is genuinely strong.
Ranking criteria · Weighted for 2-25 seats
Real monthly cost per user, including add-ons.
Freedom to leave: month to month, free porting.
Core features without tier games: IVR, routing, texting, recording.
Time from signup to answering the first call.
Want the head-to-head detail? Every comparison lives on the business phone system alternatives hub: OpenPhone, Dialpad, RingCentral, Nextiva, Google Voice, Grasshopper, Phone.com, Ooma, Aircall, and Zoom Phone. For entry pricing on one screen, including what each plan costs if you decline annual billing, use the business phone system comparison. For the wider field, including the three VoIP providers that publish no readable price at all, we priced thirteen of them at source. Phoner's own plans, Starter $15, Team $29, Business $59 per user per month on yearly billing, are on the pricing page.
Connect · Line open
Try the number one pick in the next 5 minutes
Pick a number, build your phone menu, and answer from any device. $15-29 per user billed yearly ($19-35 month to month), free porting if you are switching.
No credit card to get started. Cancel any time.